The Slab STRESS team

The proposing team is constituted by 14 researchers coming from 4 institutions, which are the Politecnico di Milano - Italy, EPFL École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne - Switzerland, FCT NOVA Universidade Nova de Lisboa - Portugal, UTCB Universitate Tehnica de Constructii Bucuresti - Romania.

Politecnico di Milano Founded in 1863, Politecnico di Milano (PoliMi) is a state scientific-technological university, which trains engineers, architects and industrial designers. PoliMi activity is characterized by the combination of theoretical bases of excellence and first-rate research infrastructures. Currently more than 41000 students are enrolled, in 7 different campuses, in PoliMi education programs, at bachelor, master and PhD levels, instructed by more than 1300 faculty members. In the field of Civil and Structural Engineering, PoliMi was ranked 14th in the world in the last QS World University Ranking, thus resulting 5th in Europe, 1st in Italy. PoliMi is organized in 12 Departments, encompassing all the main areas of engineering, architecture and industrial design and has been very active in European research projects since the early programs, with 281 projects (9 ERCs) approved within FP7 (90 M€) and 151 projects (17 ERCs) within H2020 (70 M€).

EPFL École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne The École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) is one of the two federal institutes of technology in Switzerland. EPFL was founded in 1853, becoming a federal institute in 1969. It currently hosts about 10’500 students and has a staff of about 5’000 academic and administrative positions, with a total budget of 965 million CHF. EPFL is widely regarded as a world leading university. The QS World University Rankings ranks EPFL 12th in the world across all fields in their 2017/2018 ranking, whilst Times Higher Education World University Rankings ranks EPFL as the worlds 11th best school for Engineering and Technology.

FCT NOVA Universidade Nova de Lisboa - Faculty of Science and Technology - UNL - FCT NOVA founded in 1977, is one of the most prestigious Portuguese public schools of science and engineering today, with a total enrolment of 8000 students (Degree, MSc and PhD). The School has achieved extraordinary national relevance for Higher Education on several new programmes, most of them pioneers nationwide. Between 2011 and 2015, FCT NOVA published more than 5500 papers indexed in ISI Web of Science where has earned recognition by its peers. So far, FCT NOVA counts with 5 ERC Grants (1 Advanced Grant, 1 Consolidator Grant and 3 Starting Grant) and has a portfolio of around 50 patent families. This shows the visibility as a higher technical and science school engineering.

UTCB Universitate Tehnica de Constructii Bucuresti UTCB is a Romanian university entirely devoted to education in civil engineering and related fields (such as building services, construction machines and equipment, environmental engineering, geodesy). Higher education in civil engineering in Romania started in 1864 with the foundation of ”The School of Bridges and Roads, Mines and Architecture” which, after several changes, became, starting with the academic year 1994 – 1995, “The Technical University of Civil Engineering of Bucharest” (UTCB). UTCB consists of 7 faculties (Faculty of Civil, Industrial and Agricultural Buildings, Faculty of Hydro-technics, Faculty of Railways, Roads and Bridges, Faculty of Building Services, Faculty of Technological Equipment, Faculty of Geodesy, Faculty of Engineering in Foreign Languages) and 24 departments. Faculty of Engineering in Foreign Languages provides undergraduate and master courses in English and French. UTCB enrols approximately 7500 students and runs undergraduate programmes leading to a Diploma of Bachelor in Engineering (4 years), postgraduate programmes leading to a Diploma of Master of Engineering (2 years) and to the Ph.D. in Engineering Sciences (3 years). The UTCB team has a long-standing experience in the fields of building engineering, earthquake engineering and engineering seismology, and was leading the teams which developed the Romanian Code for Seismic Design of New Buildings, the Romanian Code for Seismic Evaluation of Existing Buildings and the National Annex of Eurocode 8.

JRC Joint Research Centre As the European Commission's science and knowledge service, the JRC supports EU policies with independent scientific evidence throughout the whole policy cycle. The JRC hosts unique research facilities, draws on over 50 years of scientific experience and continually builds its expertise. The Safety and Security of Buildings Unit of the Directorate for Space, Security and Migration operates the ELSA Reaction Wall which is a unique facility in Europe and worldwide for conducting experimental tests on near to full-scale specimens for the safety assessment of structures against earthquakes and other natural and man-made hazards. The 16 m-tall, 21 m-long reaction wall, with two reaction platforms of total surface 760 m2 allows testing specimens on both sides of the wall. The laboratory is equipped with 28 actuators with capacities between 0.2 and 3 MN and strokes between ±0.125 and 1.0 m. The ELSA team has developed and implemented the pseudo-dynamic (PsD) testing method and performed numerous large-scale reference tests. The actuators control system is designed in-house to perform tests with the continuous PsD method with substructuring, that permits bidirectional testing of multi-storey buildings, testing elements of large structures and strain-rate dependent devices.